Tuesday, 20 August 2013

Colour Pencil Sketches

Colour Pencil Sketches Biography

    The pupil-teacher system (advanced pupils teaching junior classes) is formalised and, for the first time, girls are allowed to teach. Pupils have to be 13 years of age and have to be trained for 5 years and write an annual examination. After completion of the training, one year must to be spent at a recognised training institute. Higher education is offered by the South African College, the Diocesan College in Rondebosch, the Theological Seminary at Stellenbosch, St Andrew’s in Grahamstown, and the Grey Institute in Port Elizabeth.
    1869 Inanda Seminary for girls is established.
    1873 The University of the Cape of Good Hope is established to replace the Board of Examiners. It determines standards and syllabuses, conducts the School Elementary Examination, the School Higher Examination and the Matriculation Examination, and confers degrees.
    1874 The South African Teachers’ Association is established and Langham Dale is chairman. Picture below: Women students at Lovedale College, undated. Robben Island Museum.

    Women students at Lovedale College, undated. Robben Island Museum.

    1887 A number of wars of dispossession fought on the eastern frontier of the Cape Colony end. More mission stations and mission schools open because of the ceasefire. The Council of Education is established.
    1882 Marianhill Mission station and Catholic school opens. Proclamation No. 113 of 1882 promises grants for the erection of school buildings with the state making a contribution on a pound-for-pound basis. Furniture, books and stationery will also be supplied on a pound-for-pound basis. However, the depression reduces the amount of government money available for buildings. Teachers and parents voice their outrage because the Education Department has again failed to deliver on its promises.
    1884 Black schooling becomes a separate responsibility within the Council of Education.
    1894 The Council of Education is abolished and a sub-department of ‘Native Education’ is established under the 1905 The South African Native Affairs Commission reports a growing desire amongst Africans for education.

No comments:

Post a Comment